Police Services Board

Home Police Services Board

Melancthon Township Police Cruiser

The Township of Melancthon Police Services Board is mandated by the Police Services Act and is responsible for the provision of adequate and effective police services within the Township.  The Dufferin Detachment of the OPP provides Police Services for our Township through an Agreement between the Township and the Province of Ontario.

The Police Services Board consists of three members – one member of the Municipal Council, one member from the Township, appointed by Council and one member appointed by the Province.  The responsibilities of the Board are established by the Police Services Act under Section 9.

There are four meetings of the Police Services Board per year that are open to the Public.  The schedule of meetings for 2022 is February 8th,  May 10th, July 12th and October 11th.  All meetings start at 9:00 a.m.  The meetings will be held virtually due to COVID-19, until further notice.  The Section 10 Joint Police Services Boards will be meeting in the Spring 2022.

Board Contact:

Sarah Culshaw, Board Secretary
519-925-5525 Ext. 102

Board Members:

  • Alan Blundell, Chair (Public Member) *Term expires November 14, 2022
  • Mayor Darren White (Municipal Member) * Term expires November 14, 2022
  • Provincial Member – Vacant (if interested in applying for this position, please visit the Public Appointments website – https://www.ontario.ca/page/public-appointments)