



Township of Southgate and Township of Melancthon

Minutes of Special Joint Council Meeting

September 11, 2023

1 PM

Melancthon Township Administration Office 157101 Highway 10, Melancthon, ON L9V 2E6

Southgate Members

Present: Deputy Mayor Barbara Dobreen

Councillor Jason Rice Councillor Jim Ferguson

Councillor Martin Shipston (left the meeting at 2:00PM

and didn't return)
Councillor Joan John

Councillor Monica Singh Soares

Melancthon

Members Present: Mayor Darren White

Deputy Mayor James McLean

Councillor Bill Neilson Councillor Ruth Plowright

Southgate Members

Absent: Mayor Brian Milne

Melancthon

Members Absent: Councillor Ralph Moore

Southgate Staff

Present:

Dina Lundy, CAO

Lindsey Green, Clerk

David Smith, Manager of Planning and Economic

Development

Jim Ellis, Public Works Manager Bev Fisher, Chief Building Official

Elisha Milne, Legislative and Planning Coordinator

Melancthon Staff

Present: Denise Holmes, CAO/Clerk

Sarah Culshaw, Treasurer/Deputy Clerk

Silva Yousif, Senior Planner

Others Present: Cody Joudry, Director of Development and Tourism -

Dufferin County

Dustin Lyttle, Triton Engineering Ray Kurtz, Triton Engineering

1. Call to Order

Township of Melancthon Mayor White called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM.

2. Land Acknowledgment Statement - Township of Melancthon

We would like to begin by acknowledging that Melancthon Township recognizes the ancestral lands and treaty territories of the Tionontati (Petun/Wyandot(te)), Haudenosaunee (Six Nations), and Anishinaabe Peoples. The Township of Melancthon resides within the lands named under the Haldimand Deed of 1784 and the Lake Simcoe-Nottawasaga Treaty (Treaty 18).

These territories upon which we live and learn, are steeped in rich Indigenous history and traditions. It is with this statement that we declare to honour and respect the past and present connection of Indigenous peoples with this land, its waterways and resources.

3. Appointment of Chair

No. 2023-390

Moved By Councillor Rice Seconded By Councillor Plowright

Be it resolved that the Councils of the Corporation of the Township of Southgate and the Corporation of the Township of Melancthon appoint Mayor White as Chair of the September 11, 2023 joint special Council meeting.

4. Confirmation of Agenda

No. 2023-391

Moved By Deputy Mayor McLean **Seconded By** Councillor Shipston

Be it resolved that Council's confirm the agenda as presented.

Carried

5. Declaration of Pecuniary Interest

No one declared a pecuniary interest related to any item on the agenda.

6. Closed Session

No. 2023-392

Moved By Councillor Plowright **Seconded By** Councillor John

Be it resolved that the Councils of the Corporation of the Township of Southgate and the Corporation of the Township of Melancthon proceed into Closed Session at 1:03 PM in order to address matters related to a position, plan, procedure, criteria or instruction to be applied to any negotiations carried on or to be carried on by or on behalf of the municipality or local board (Sec.239(2)(k)) (Subject: property negotiations); and

That all those required remain in attendance.

Carried

Councillor Shipston left the meeting at 2:00 PM and did not return.

No. 2023-393

Moved By Councillor Plowright **Seconded By** Deputy Mayor Dobreen

Be it resolved that Council come out of Closed Session at 2:58 PM.

Carried

7. Confirming By-law

No. 2023-394

Moved By Deputy Mayor McLean **Seconded By** Councillor Rice

Be it resolved that by-law number 2023-091 being a by-law to confirm the proceedings of the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Southgate and the Council of the Corporation of the Township of Melancthon at its joint special meeting held on September 11, 2023 be read a first, second and third time, finally passed, signed by the Mayor and the Clerk, sealed with the seal of the Corporation and entered into the by-law book.

Carried

8. Adjournment

No. 2023-395

Moved By Councillor Plowright **Seconded By** Councillor Singh Soares

Be it resolved that Council adjourn the meeting at 2:58 PM.

Deputy Mayor Barbara Dobreen

Clerk Lindsey Green

Mayor Darren White
Clerk Denise Holmes